Wake Up And Smell The GMOs

images

I am angry.  I can’t believe that I live in a country where the food I buy and give to my children is not trustworthy.  I am astounded that there are well known businesses in America that are using the citizens who live here in this country as their lab rats.  I am mad as hell that there are people that work for these companies that are poisoning our kids.  I am disturbed that when those that speak up for what is right is fired and or threatened for their knowledge of the truth.  I am displeased that our eyes have been covered from the dangers that is being fed to us and our babies… but no more, my blinders have come off.

I find it odd that the amount of chronic illnesses, extreme allergies, leaky gut syndromes, obesity, infertility, autism and unexplained cancerous tumors in younger and younger patients have increased in an alarming rate over the past 20 years.  Hmmm… that’s about the time that Monsanto introduced to the consumer population genetically modified foods.  Go figure…

When I speak with other parents about GMOs, most of the time, they really don’t know what GMOs are or how they affect our health.  The other day, a parent used these words verbatim,  “I used to eat all that junk when I was a kid, so what’s the big deal now?”  Uh huh, someone who is unquestionably uninformed and that’s exactly how the big food corporations want it.  After all, they did spend over 45 million dollars this past election to defeat Prop 37 CA Right to Know GMO Labeling initiative.  Transparency for these corporations is hazy at best and what’s obvious to me may not be so clear for others.

Genetically modified foods have many names, the most common are genetically modified organisms (GMO), genetically engineered (GE) and genetically modified (GM).  It doesn’t matter what name you call it, as long as you are aware of it and understand that there are health risks when eating foods that are genetically modified.  Yes, that’s right, health risks in the food we give our children and pregnant mothers… oh heck, it’s bad for everyone including the farm animals and even the little pesky insects that are eating the crops.

 Once parents find out what GMOs are, they can never go back to the diet they had before our little chit chat began.  As I do my best to explain that GMO protein structures have been changed and that our bodies are unable to recognize the nutrients of that food no longer, I see the realization start to kick in from the person standing in front of me.  It gets me hot under the collar when I talk about the change in the seeds that farmers use that have been modified to be either pest or herbicide resistant.  A pesticide in the seeds that grow into  Bt corn and now is a box of cereal sitting on a shelf in your pantry… Kellog’s… They’re Grrrrrrreat!

Knowing that GMOs are unrecognizable to the human body, how can any good parent continue feeding their family poison?  The studies of GMOs by independent groups have been coming out recently and their findings are not favorable. GMOs are being linked to so many illnesses it will make your head explode!  My head is already on fire since doing the research on this topic, and truly I’m just scratching the surface of the many facets of GMOs.  Other facets include: unhealthy cows/farm animals, severe skin conditions that many field workers are experiencing, the senior advisor on food safety for the FDA was once the VP for public policy for Monsanto, mass suicides by farmers in India, farmers being manipulated and sued by Monsanto, and the list continues to grow.  All this because of GMOs.

 Are your blinders coming off now too?  Help give your pantry a new makeover and your health a new breath of life.  Here is  information on which food corporations donated money to stop GMO labeling.  The more you know… right?

3 thoughts on “Wake Up And Smell The GMOs

  1. Yes, Tracy – Yes!

    Thanks for this wonderful post… your advice has helped me already to be a more informed mom. Now I can share this with other mothers… the more people who become aware, the better off we will all be. Change won’t happen as fast as we need it to until quite a few more people get angry enough to take a stand.

    Thanks for leading the charge!

    xo
    Janet

    Like

    • Awww shucks Janet… thanks sooo much for stopping by and taking the time to comment. Awareness is needed more than ever, I’m hoping to wake everybody up… “Rise and shine!” 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: Wake Up And Smell The GMOs | Tracy Madlener

Mahalo for stopping by and taking the time to comment. It is greatly appreciated!

