Homeschool Comments 101

Unknown

“Yes, I homeschool my kids. No, I won’t take your kids and homeschool them too!”

When other moms find out I homeschool my kids, it never fails, I get the same comments all the time… “I could never do that!” or “I don’t have the patience.” or “You must be a Saint!” Now let’s think about what’s been said by these moms and break down what it is that these words mean to me as a homeschool mom.

“I could never do that!”- How could someone say, “never,” if they’ve never tried it? I don’t understand those who tell me never as if it’s their final decision etched in stone. Wouldn’t these moms want to try something or anything that has everything to do with their child’s future outcome? If someone told me that my kids could have favorable results in their schooling and an ongoing love for learning, I’d be asking for more information! Maybe it’ll work, maybe it won’t, but the word never would not be a part of my vocabulary, especially when my children’s future success depends on it.

 “I don’t have the patience.”- Patience is something that is practiced. I have learned that over the past ten years of homeschooling my kids, that, and a nice shot of bourbon at the end of my day! Seriously, this comment makes me wince every time I hear it. Not enough patience? Then why even bother becoming a parent?

Patience is waking up three to four times a night when your baby wants to eat. Patience is when you spend an hour and a half sitting in the bathroom by the plastic training potty clapping your hands every time your toddler acknowledges that that’s the place to poop. Patience is rereading Goodnight Moon for the third time in a row because you’re hoping your child will fall asleep at the next, “Good night bears. Good night chairs…” To tell me that they don’t have patience to teach their child basically says to me that their child is bothersome and they don’t want to deal with them on a daily basis. Again, why did they become a parent?

“You must be a Saint!”- Thank you, I’ll accept that comment graciously, but I’m no Saint! I am resourceful, creative, open-minded, flexible, and someone who goes through lots of boxes of hair color! I do my best to be a good role model not only for my kids, but for other parents who want to try something new but are unsure of where to start. I’m always willing to share my knowledge about the homeschool community and be as helpful as I can so that those moms with questions maybe have a new perspective on what’s best for their children’s education.

After chatting with me for a few minutes, the new comment from these moms are always the same, “Can you teach my kids at your house? I’ll pay you!”- The point of homeschooling my kids is to homeschool my kids. My kids are thriving with their education because I can do that, I do have the patience, and maybe I am part Saint…

 

 

One thought on “Homeschool Comments 101

  1. Pingback: Resources for Beginning to Homeschool | My School of Thought

Mahalo for stopping by and taking the time to comment. It is greatly appreciated!

