GMOs in Paradise… Hawaii’s Tropical Nightmare

images

Protest march in Kauai 2013

I was born in Honolulu at St. Francis Hospital on Liliha Street at a time when they used to have a maternity ward. Yeah, go ahead and make fun of me now… “I never knew there was a hospital over there!” No worries, I got my secret box of hair color underneath my bathroom sink!

I no longer live in Hawaii, but thoughts of my island home stay close to my heart. Phone calls with my parents who live on Oahu are frequent and it is always a treat when I catch my grandma, who lives on Kauai, near her phone as she tells me all about her green roses and orchids that fill her side yard.

Lately, conversations with my parents have not been the typical light hearted talk story chats, it has been about Hawaii’s food source and the effects that it has not just in the islands, but the entire world. Talk of GMOs are the hot topic and figuring out who is telling the truth about health and the environment can be muddled as it depends on who fills the informant’s wallet. This article is written with every intention of sharing my heart and my knowledge of what is happening to the islands that I love so much… without anybody filling my bank account. Even though I no longer live in Hawaii, I will forever be a local girl that cares about the land and the people of Hawaii.

The story of genetically modified organisms (GMO) is a huge tangled web and affects many businesses, farmers, politicians, consumers, the animals, the land itself and most importantly, our keikis. There is so much talk about GMOs but what I’ve realized in chatting with others is that most people really don’t understand how GMOs affect our well being. Once understood, the anger sets in and the feeling of betrayal by those who we thought were on our side, really is not.

The two major concerns that GMOs cause for Hawaii is the poisoning of the environment and the poisoning of all who eat GMO foods. With the trade winds blowing, the poisonous chemicals are sprayed on the crops, and when it rains, the poison makes its way to a water source… the ocean. The people who use these chemicals are covered in head to toe protective gear and ventilative masks to make sure not to harm themselves, but shouldn’t the environment wear a mask too? How much poison can be used before the land and the water become highly toxic?

Now let’s talk about what we eat. There are two types of modified seeds, but the one I want to discuss is the pest resistant variety. These seeds have been modified to create a poison within itself. Yes, a pesticide so that the pesky little critters won’t eat the plant and if they do, their stomach explodes. Are you catching on? Poison is put in the seeds that turn into a plant that now becomes dinner on your family’s table. And we wonder why there are so many cases of extreme allergies, infertility, obesity, leaky gut syndrome, autism and tumorous cancers in younger and younger patients.

Hawaii has always been and continues to be the place where Aloha was born. No matter where someone is from, when the Aloha spirit is felt, it has captured that person’s heart and they will never forget that feeling of being accepted as ohana. The biotech companies that are in Hawaii are not ohana and they are definitely, not Aloha.

This article was written for Babes Against Biotech.  Like them here… https://www.facebook.com/BabesAgainstBiotech

3 thoughts on “GMOs in Paradise… Hawaii’s Tropical Nightmare

  1. I saw a protest march against GMOs and Monsanto when I was on the island of Oahu in May. I have not posted the photos yet.
    The people of the islands are very concerned….hard to “unpoison” the land once it is thoughtlessly damaged like this.

    Like

    • Thank you for sharing your thoughts Mary. Not only are the people in Hawaii concerned, but all eyes globally are concerned and watching.

      Like

  2. Pingback: A really fun salad - Common Sense Living

Mahalo for stopping by and taking the time to comment. It is greatly appreciated!

