Parents Don’t Care- Do You?

ImageThe other day, I had a discussion with a person that I highly respect and I couldn’t believe what my ears were hearing… “Parents don’t care because if they did, they would make the time to create change.”  Wow, just wow.  I didn’t want to believe it.  I want people to care.  I especially want parents to care.  I want them to be informed about what’s going on in our world.  I want them to open their eyes and realize that the decisions being made today affect our children tomorrow. I want them to be as mad as I am, so mad in fact, that it makes them get up off their butts, no matter how tired they are or how busy a day they’ve had and do something to create positive change for their children.

Why am I mad?  With the help of bought out politicians, corporations are polluting the water, the air, the land, the food and our most precious resource, our children.  Profits are more important than the future health of our kids and when mistakes are made, such as coal ash being dumped in the river, leaks in infrastructures (multiple states) of a nuclear power/waste plant possibly contaminating ground water, fracking explosions exposing toxic chemicals in the air we breathe, well, who takes responsibility for the damage?  Who cleans it up?

Then there’s our home environment where most of us feel protected, but unfortunately, our homes are loaded with toxic items that we buy from the store and we believe these products to be safe.  We think that the manufacturers are keeping our health in mind when creating their products, but in reality, there are no regulations.  Toxic chemicals are in and around almost EVERYTHING.  Household cleaners, plastic sippy cups and even our toothpaste, I’m just scratching the surface with no end in sight.  I am not kidding.  Data collected estimates that we put on over 100, ONE HUNDRED, toxic chemicals on our personal selves before nine o’clock in the morning!  Is it no wonder that we all have allergies, skin conditions, ongoing health issues?  I mean, think about it… when we shampoo our hair, the chemicals in that product is being absorbed by our skin closest to our brain.  And did you know that in the USA there are no regulations for personal care products that we use?  Do you know what those ingredients are on the back of a shampoo bottle?  Or a better question might be, do you trust the ingredients that are listed?

Food is something we need every day to nurture our bodies and keep us healthy.  You would think that walking into a grocery store is a safe bet to find nutritious foods that we can feed to our families.  Ummm, well, did you know that 80% of processed foods that line the shelves of the grocery aisles are banned in other countries?  Yup, you read correct, 80%.  Have you read the labels of the food packaging lately?  It’s like trying to decipher the Greek language and I almost think that learning Greek might be easier than reading a food label in the United States.  Shouldn’t we be able to easily figure out what we are feeding our families?  Do you really know what those ingredients are?  Do you care?

Are you getting mad?  I hope you are because this is our children’s world, we’re just borrowing it until they have kids.  We are supposed to be the caretakers of this planet and ready it for the next generation, but I think that people have forgotten to look at what being ready means.  To see past their own selves and into a healthy future requires a selfless ego, which many heads of the corporations and political parties seem to have misplaced.

I hope that person is wrong.  I hope parents care.  I hope that there are others like me who make the time to create positive change for our children.  I care.  Do you?

North Carolina Coal Ash- http://www.reuters.com/article/2014/02/19/us-usa-northcarolina-spill-idUSBREA1I0ER20140219

Perry Nuclear Power Plant- http://www.cleveland.com/open/index.ssf/2014/01/perry_nuclear_power_plant_trit.html

Handford Nuclear Waste Tanks- http://rt.com/usa/hanford-nuclear-tanks-flaw-401/

New Mexico Radiation Detected- http://rt.com/usa/new-mexico-radiation-detected-862/

Pennsylvania Fracking Explosion- http://www.cnn.com/2014/02/18/us/chevron-pennsylvania-explosion-pizzas/

The Story of Cosmetics- http://www.huffingtonpost.com/annie-leonard/ithe-story-of-cosmeticsi_b_653866.html

80% Processed Foods- http://www.nationofchange.org/80-percent-processed-foods-us-are-banned-other-nations-1372517219

15 thoughts on “Parents Don’t Care- Do You?

  1. Great info here Tracy! Thank you for your passion in spreading the word about toxins in our environment. It is to refreshing to see parents like you who really do care! Keep up the good work my friend:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Every blog is more empowering than the last Tracy. I was talking to a young lady the other who was feeling discouraged by all the bad around her and I had to remind her that all she needed to do was go into some of the groups that she was participating in to see all the good that is around her as well. There are millions of us that truly do care and more are joining us every day. I am so very proud to be one of those parents and feel it is our obligation as parents to ensure to the best of our ability (which means getting up off our butts) that our children have a safe and thriving environment in which to raise their own children. Your blog is excellent my dear:) xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So glad you are in our lives Tracy! You are such a great writer, you are authentically yourself, which resonates clearly in your writing. You write from personal experience therefore with passion from your heart ~ You are a true leader and thankfully for us all you have established your voice in writing! Your blog is a one that is now bookmarked and will be followed each time….I learn so much from the individual. It’s my way of staying current and reading the (good) news! Aho!

    Liked by 1 person

    • We are ALL in this together Mike… I count on people like you to spread awareness, for our kids, for our health, for our planet. Thanks for taking the time to comment. 🙂

      Like

  4. Pingback: Top 10 Purposeful Change Parents Can Make For Their Children | Tracy Madlener

  5. Tracy, thank you for writing this, everybody needs to read/hear this. Very good information. This is something that I am also passionate about, because I miss the wilderness (we are losing it more and more everyday). What really makes me mad is when people just throw their trash on the ground and don’t care. Oh that tears me up, I learned to appreciate this beautiful country we have when I drove a truck. I’ll pick up after people because I want the next person to see the land as I see it (for the beauty that is all around us). Thank you for sharing this, I better stop before I get wound up…lol. Keep writing

    Liked by 1 person

    • How can you NOT be passionate about the beauty of our planet? Those who don’t see it are the ones we need to help. How do we help them? By untying the strings that connect to their blinders… Mahalo for taking the time to comment Richard! 🙂

      Like

Mahalo for stopping by and taking the time to comment. It is greatly appreciated!

