Label Reading Blues

images-1

Are you one of the many who are just waking up to the realities of what’s going on with our chemical world?  When you go into the grocery store or to a Target, are you reading your labels before you put that item into your cart?  When you discover what’s on the label, after putting that item back on the shelf, do you get mad?  Do you feel like you’re falling in a never ending hole by the endless amount of words that are unpronounceable on our ingredient labels for personal care products and our food?  Well, you’re not alone!

The view is so clear once the blinders have been removed, and all of a sudden, we realize that the scenery is not very pleasurable.  How in the world did our food and our everyday household and personal items become so toxic?  Who let this happen?  These questions are a whole other article, and right now I want to focus on the feelings that we get when we go into a store or into a restaurant having a clear view and an understanding that soooooo many items around us are toxic.  I know how I feel, and I’m sure you feel it too… angry, disappointed and betrayed.

No matter how we feel about being bombarded by constant negativity, we can still make positive change.  Because you’re here and reading these words, please know that you are all ready making change, no matter how frustrating you may feel after you leave the store.  I am writing this article to let YOU know that you’re doing a FANTASTIC job.  Please keep in mind that purposeful change takes time.  When the blinders come off, seeing all that there is to see, can be quite alarming and yes, very overwhelming.  But don’t give up!  Keep at it and the more you do it, the more proficient you become.  How do I know?  Because in my pre label reading days, running an errand to the store took me 15 minutes.  Then I started reading labels, and doing that same errand, now took twice as long as I was now trying to decipher a whole other language!  It does get easier though, you’ll see.

I’ve discovered that the more I learn, the healthier I’ve become and my lifestyle has changed dramatically.  The world around you opens up to the possibilities that change, positive and purposeful, can happen.  It’s the empowerment of knowledge that feels so good, to not have any corporation or brand tell you what is good for you.  You tell YOU what is good for you.  Take it a little at a time, breathe deep, and know that you are doing everything possible to make purposeful change.  Reading a label takes time.  I know you can do it, I did and still am learning, and I will keep encouraging you to do so as well.  Hey look!  The view is already getting better. 🙂

 

To help you save some time at the store, I have found these apps to be helpful…

https://tracymadlener.wordpress.com/2014/02/27/can-you-pronounce-those-toxic-words-me-neither/

 

2 thoughts on “Label Reading Blues

  1. This article is such a help to so many moms and dads out there who are just starting the journey of “removing the blinders”. It can seen quite daunting at first, as if there is no hope. The key is to not waver in your conviction, remember your “why” and as you said take smell steps. It gets easier each trip and before you know it you have a home where no toxic foods or products reside! It took me a year and honestly you are an addict once you catch the bug lol. You start helping others and it is so empowering because you truly do have control!!! Go moms!!!!

    Like

Mahalo for stopping by and taking the time to comment. It is greatly appreciated!

